The Bay to Birdwood is the largest continually-held motoring event for veteran, vintage and classic vehicles anywhere in the world. It is an event that truly has no age limit, boasting a reach across a broad demographic.


With a history spanning back to 1980 the Bay to Birdwood is one of the strongest and most loved brands in South Australia.

The Bay to Birdwood consists of two events held on alternative years – the Run and the Classic.

The Run is an event for vehicles manufactured up to to 31 December 1959. This event is held in ‘even’ numbered years ie. 2018, 2020, 2022, etc.

The Classic is an event for vehicles manufactured between 1 January 1956 to 31 December 1981. This event is held in ‘odd’ numbered years ie. 2019, 2021, 2023 etc.

The Bay to Birdwood is a community event – from over 5,000 participants in entrant vehicles – to the hundreds of volunteers – right through to the tens of thousands of spectators lining the route to watch this historic motoring cavalcade as it travels through metropolitan Adelaide and the Hills region on its way to its final destination, Birdwood. Here, motor enthusiasts and spectators enjoy an afternoon of displays, entertainment and the very popular judging of the Concours d’Elegance and Preservation Award vehicles. The South Australian community has truly embraced the event with their continued support on the last Sunday in September each year.

The Bay to Birdwood is proud to have His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia, as Patron.