Concours d’Elegance

The Concours d’Elegance is held each year in association with both the Run and the Classic. It follows the original Concours d’Elegance format in that the overall appearance of the vehicle and passengers is judged.

To be a part of this category, please indicate your interest clearly on your entry form and attach a photograph of the vehicle for our consideration. Traditionally, Concours entrant vehicles are flagged off first at the Start to facilitate their arrival at the National Motor Museum for the two stages of judging.

An initial judging of all Concours d’Elegance vehicles will take place with teams of non-technical judges inspecting the vehicles and occupants. It is therefore important that you, and your passengers, are prepared to remain with your vehicle until advised that this first round of judging is completed.

The primary scoring system is broken into three parts: the vehicle, the occupants’ attire and the overall effect of the vehicle/occupant(s). The entries gaining the ten highest combined scores are announced as finalists.

The five finalists selected will move to the front of the main presentation stage where the final judging will take place. It is then the task of the technical experts to judge the vehicles and the dress of the entrants. The vehicles are assessed on a number of areas; including paint, engine bay, interior and overall effect. The dress of the entrants is judged according to how closely their appearance associates with the era of their vehicle. All finalists receive a certificate and the overall winner receives the prized Concours Trophy.

Concours d'Elegance Rules

  • All vehicles must comply with the conditions of entry.
  • A photo which clearly displays your vehicle must be submitted with your entry form.
  • Vehicles must be presented for judging at the National Motor Museum, Birdwood in the allocated judging area.
  • You must stay with your vehicle until judging has been completed, this may be until after 12.30 pm.
  • Finalists will be asked to move their vehicles to a display area at approximately 1.30 pm.
  • Vehicles arriving after midday may not be judged and may be ineligible.
  • As an entrant of the Concours d’Elegance your vehicle must be presented in a suitable condition for competition.
  • If you decide to withdraw from being judged for any reason, please advise the Director of Judges as soon as possible to avoid any confusion on the day.
  • Winners of the Concours trophy will not be eligible to enter the Concours Class for the next 10 consecutive Bay to Birdwood events.

A significant number of the judging points are allocated to clothing so you must wear suitable attire related to the era of your vehicle to be considered as a Concours entrant.

There will be only one overall winner, however, all finalists will be presented with a finalist certificate.

Bay to Birdwood Classic 2017 Winner

Congratulations to first-time entrant, Paul Mason and his 1968 Holden HK Monaro

Concours Winner with vehicle

Bay to Birdwood Run 2016 Winner

Congratulations to the lovely family of Ryan, Kirsty and Flynn Turner who won with their 1926 Pontiac which has been in the family for 40 years.

Epsom Rd B2B2016_3

Bay to Birdwood Classic 2015 Winner

Congratulations to the delightful family of Mark & Julia, Chloe & Amber Kraulis who won with their 1956 Chevrolet Belair.


Bay to Birdwood Run 2014 Winner

Congratulations to John and Robyn Whittaker who won the Concours d’Elegance at the 2014 Bay to Birdwood Run with their 1953 Mercedes 300s.

John and Robyn Whittaker concours 1953 Mercedes 300s

Bay to Birdwood Classic 2013 Winner

Congratulations to Anthony and Luisa Perre who won the Concours d’Elegance at the 2013 Bay to Birdwood Classic with this 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle Coupe.

Anthony and Louisa Perre - 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle

Past Winners of the Concours d'Elegance

Bay to Birdwood Run

      • 2016 Ryan and Kirsty Turner – 1926 Pontiac
      • 2014 John and Robyn Whittaker – 1953 Mercedes 300s
      • 2012 Jason Edwards – 1955 MG TF 1500
      • 2010 Neil & Gaynor Francis – 1914 Napier T68 Tourer
      • 2008 David Lean – 1941 BMW R12 Motorcycle Outfit
      • 2006 John & Robyn Whittaker – 1952 Mercedes 220
      • 2004 Peter Whelan – 1929 Packard Limousine
      • 2002 Claude & Elizabeth Minge – 1924 Nash Hearse
      • 2000 Don & Marg Evans – 1948 Jaguar Mk V
      • 1998 Donald & Elsa Cuppleditch – 1913 Empire Runabout
      • 1996 Allan & Judy Steele – 1924 Rugby Tourer
      • 1994 Roly & Helen Forss – 1928 Talbot
      • 1992 Chris & Jenny Sorenson – 1904 Di Dion
      • 1990 Jim M Ellis – 1928 Packard Tourer
      • 1988 Mal Verco – 1912 Ford T Runabout & JM Ellis – 1928 Packard Limousine
      • 1986 Colin Davis – 1909 Renault
      • 1984 Donald & Elsa Cuppleditch – 1913 Empire Runabout
      • 1982 Terry Parker – 1908 Matchless Motorcycle
      • 1980 Stephen, Christina, Gabriella & Elizabeth Boros – 1930 Model A Ford

Bay to Birdwood Classic

      • 2017 Paul Mason – 1968 Holden HK Monaro
      • 2015 Mark & Julia, Chloe & Amber Kraulis – 1956 Chevrolet Belair
      • 2013 Anthony & Luisa Perre – 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle Coupe
      • 2011 Peter & Lynda Ninnis – 1958 Ford Skyliner Convertible
      • 2009 Leon Parbs – 1969 Ford Capri 1600 GT
      • 2007 Greg Meyers – 1971 MV Augusta 125 GTLS Motorcycle
      • 2005 Lyell & Julie Blackman – 1956 M.G. A Roadster
      • 2003 Mick Mitolo – 1955 M.G. TF Roadster
      • 2001 Graham Juttner – 1962 Jaguar Mk II Sedan
      • 1999 David Major – 1954 Aston Martin DB2/4 Coupe
      • 1997 Cestra Holdings L P Khabbaz – 1965 Ford XP Coupe